Everything is better with sound FX.

Jacob Drum (Benton Alridge/Bookworm) & Normita Joven (Delilah) on set.

That’s what I have found as I have edited the handful of action scenes we have shot so far for Party Girl. Now this is my first foray into action and I am learning as I go. I don’t expect my scenes to be Raid Redemption quality. Not yet. But I have people willing to try things they have not before and they are learning as much as I am. And that’s the thing, learning. Leaving every day of work on this web series, or hell any project…a little smarter and better than before and able to do better job the next day.

I think we are succeeding.

Last night’s fisticuffs were brief, but they look quite cool in the scene I cut together. It involved Jacob Drum (Benton Alridge/Bookworm) and Normita Joven (Delilah). Now Normita has like 60 black belts and has worked on scenes like this for years now on many big time shows, so I am glad we have her on this project lending her talents and expertise.

Directing the action on set in Benton’s Lab.

I  first encountered here when I was looking for a suit actress for an Ameri-toku short film I was going to do as an entry to a short film contest. It didn’t pan out as I never got the costume work started, but her friendship since then  and the contacts she has have been invaluable since.

It was a fun scene with Delilah stealing some stuff from Benton and the brief bit of dialogue between the two of them was good. Jacob continues to shine as Benton and I am really looking forward to people seeing his performance in the episodes.

When it came time for the physical stuff, we tweaked the scene a bit just due to where we were. It was a simple couple of moves we shot several times from different angles. Credit to Jacob again for being a champ and taking the floor bumps he did. It looks great. And with the added sound FX. So awesome. Cannot wait for people to see it.

Other action stuff that has been shot has been the Hell Sisters and Party Girl, shot in Denton and Boyd a few weeks ago as noted. Good stuff and I am learning what to do, what not to do and more importantly how exactly to shoot the scenes so blows aren’t whiffing and breaking the visual illusion of them connecting to people’s faces.

A bruised Sirena Bingham (Christy Felmore) and Party Girl (Jeanne Lampley)

A bruised Sirena Bingham (Christy Felmore) and Party Girl (Jeanne Lampley)

I’m learning, but it’s coming along.

Speaking of coming along, the teaser has come along to 700+ views in 11 days. I am not completely well versed in metrics and such of youtube to know if this is good or bad, lol. But for me, it’s good. I am happy with it. Would I like a million hits, yep. And we will get there by God…but for just blasting it on twitter and facebook, I am good with what we have. As long as people are seeing it. We will start up a more aggressive promotional push once we have wrapped up production in October.

Hoping that month to get a booth/table set up at a convention in Addison to help promote the show. I have already had a few cast members tell me they are up for doing the promo work as well as some actors who have smaller roles in the show willing to put boots on the ground and help promote the show. That means a ton to me to see so many people involved in this really believing in the show and the story and willing to help me get it out there to people.

It’s going to be great.

Leave a Reply

