Scored a commercial gig…and more….

Posted: 2013/04/28 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yep, just like the heading said, Bj Lewis, scored a commercial gig.

I pretty much don’t mention my wrestling related business on this blog as I have another blog people can read that at –> http://enviisbetter.wordpress.com/ but scoring the gig had to do with wrestling.

Fabian tipped me off to the audition post on Facebook last week. I sent the casting folks my information, links to matches and a few promo pics not thinking much of it. I received an e-mail the next day inviting me to the audition. Very cool. Even if I didn’t get it I just wanted that experience since it was something I had never done before. I have said previously I wanted to go to an audition so I can experience it and better understand what I am putting potential actors through when they come audition for me.

When I got there I ran into a handful of people I knew from the shows I have worked. Some I have worked in the ring, some just been on the same card. I peeped a sheet listing the scheduled wrestlers and it was at least 100 guys they had scheduled. So My heart kinda dropped a bit calculating my chances. We’re always our own worst critics aren’t we? I didn’t think I had much of a chance. They were looking for heavyweight, middleweight and lightweight guys. I hadn’t seen many lightweights when I passed through but someone told me later that a bunch of them went in the morning. So I didn’t think much of it. I will admit I did do a little furious checking of my e-mail to see if I had anything from the producers. That wore off and I didn’t pay it any mind.

Fast forward to Thursday (my birthday) and I get a call back from the casting company telling me they want me in Austin for the shoot. Very cool. I believe the other two guys on the shoot with be Mike Dell and Michael Faith, guys I have known for a long while since being in the biz so it should be an easy fun shoot.

The pay is OK and I plan on throwing pretty much all of it back into Party Girl to pick up a digital recorder, boom, shotgun mic, a good cheap wide angle lens, some costume bits, an extra CF card, battery, promo photos and tickets for some of the cast for the Dallas Comic-Con. I had been needing an influx of cash to help the filming continue on a smooth path and this commercial proved to be an epic blessing to help this. I am thinking I also want to take a stab at building this rig, one of the latest from the Frugal Filmmaker, one of my favorite Youtube-ers.

Filming continues on Party Girl. Sunday morning sees Emma in front of the camera after a short layoff due to school commitments picking up. And we will finally get Alan Chow in front of the camera as Greg Hix/Grasshopper and Rosa Nichols as his mother. I have been super geeked for this shoot as Alan killed the audition for Greg so I have been wanting to see him in full form acting.

AlexisKyler

Speaking of firsts in front of the camera, a few weeks ago saw the debut of Alexis Johnson and Kyler Hodson for Party Girl. They had a fun scene together and I can’t wait to see them do more.

It’s a true marathon and it is ongoing.

After months of Seth mobbing me about it, I finally knocked out a bloopers reel. So that is online for people to check out. Season 2 production will kick off sometime in the summer again.

Insourcing is still there, waiting to finish the other two episodes. I got behind on editing the fifth episode which features Kevin M’fn Green in a feature role, but hoping to get to that soon as the other episodes leading up to the 12th are just ready to go.

Whew, that’s it for now.

Oh and if you haven’t seen it, check the first Party Girl teaser.

Leave a Reply

