48Hr Film Challenge: Done

Posted: 2012/06/19 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Tired.

Yours truly has been going strong since last Sunday when I left Texas for Florida and a week with the Poynter Institute. An amazing week I might add that focused on video storytelling. So many helpful sessions during the week that will make my work better in the long run. When Friday rolled around and we said our goodbyes I boarded my flight to head back to Texas to get a few hours of rest to be ready for the 48hr Film Challenge.

Film challenge veteran Greg Vestal, (Jack/RedOne in BioMan) was putting together a crack team of actors, sound techs and make up techs to film an entry for the contest. In it you have 48 hours to write, shoot and edit a short film using a genre a line of dialogue, character and prop that you are given.

On the agenda was the detective/cop genre, the prop was a travel ticket, the character was JJ Jeeps and the line was “I’ll be right back.” The script for “Cracking the Case” was written into the wee hours of the morning by Tim Newkirk, Brandon Johnson and Greg.

Greg and I co-directed it with Brandon running sound. Hair/Makeup/Wardrobe was done by Shade DuBois and the movie featured:

Dawn Ezelle as Carly, The Hostess
Samantha Rieff as Samantha, The Femme Fatale
Candy Slatten as Alli, The Tea Drinker
Charles Baxter as Warner Von Schtoople, The MLM Presenter
Travis Rodriguez as The Blind Guy, who couldn’t see
Justin Barret as Agent Justin Barnes &
Greg Vestal as Agent Phillip Marlow
Michael “Ballcock” Gardner as “The Plumber”

I had never done something like this before so I did not know what to expect. There were lessons learned in the experience that I hope to apply in the future. It was stressful, but fun.

Due to some mix up with the drop off location, I am not sure I turned it in time for any awards, but it will at least be screened in the 9:30 p.m. group at the Texas Theater Wednesday night. Should be interesting to see what kind of reaction it gets.

Hopefully I can work with some of the actors in the future as I can see roles for them already.

I am working on an alternate cut of the short that moves some things around and shores up some issues I have with the cut I put out Sunday night. I think the film will be better for it in the long run.

Can’t wait for Wednesday. Hopefully it can help start some positive things for Taurian Films. You have to start somewhere and you have to make mistakes and get knocked down before you can progress right?

Also I am eagerly awaiting the national version of this film race in October. Already checked into the cost and plan to take the knowledge gained from this and crush that one.

Leave a Reply

