Alas, far too long since I blogged, eh?

Well things are moving on two fronts. For Insourcing and for Party Girl.

Insourcing’s first episode will indeed drop on the interwebs on Valentine’s Day. I am going to work on a new teaser cut this weekend to help get the word out about that. I am excited for it. We still have some things we need to shore up on the last couple episodes and hoping to get those taken care of soon enough. I am looking at some advertising costs on a couple web sites that I know get a lot of traffic. Definitely plan to do more than just post the stuff on youtube and tweet about it. Also looking at doing some of that advertising for Dial-A-Ranger’s first season as well.

Dial-A-Ranger is in a think tank phase for season two as the break continues. I have an idea of the arc for the second season and a couple episodes already mapped out, I just have to fill in the rest. There will be more of Stan, more of the SPD Red Ranger and more fellow Rangers. Maybe even some Kamen Riders too, who knows.

Party Girl’s filming kicks off this weekend. Sunday will grace us with Jacob Drum and Chris Goddard as Benton Alridge and Joseph Alridge respectively. The scenes they are working are from the pilot episode. There are set to be some great interactions I am excited to see. I started working on the gauntlet prop for Bookworm. We won’t be getting into the party scene until the summer so I am time to get the version 1 gauntlet finished. But he does have a version 2 I have to get done as well. I thought I had an appointment Saturday, but that fell through so it will leave me time to get some resin work done on the gauntlet.

Emma Weatherford (Rachel Buchanan/Party Girl) learning some movies as her mom, Jenni Mabrey (Evelyn Buchanan) looks on.

Emma Weatherford (Rachel Buchanan/Party Girl) learning some movies as her mom, Jenni Mabrey (Evelyn Buchanan) looks on.

In other costume matters, Samantha and I have talked about Grasshopper costume stuff recently and at the second table read on the 16th, she should be bringing me some cost estimates so we can get the materials bought ASAP. We’re ordering the pieces needed for Rachel’s version 1 costume as well. That should be in by the second table read as well, so we’re hoping to get some pics of her in the suit soon.

Emma began working with my fight choreographer a couple weeks ago. Things got held up though due to some personal issues for my fight guy. But I believe those are resolved and we should be getting back into the swing of things this week.

There’s still a couple locations I need to secure for restaurant scenes. I thought I had a couple places on lock, but I don’t. Seems they have let other people in their door in the past to shoot projects and things did not go so well, so the owners are a bit skittish on letting me in. It sucks because it’s something I had no part of and I am paying for it, but hey, that’s the way things go. You just have to adapt.

Not sure how many people will care on the technical side of things but for Party Girl we are moving from a t3i to shoot on to a 5d mark ii. One is a crop sensor camera, the other is a full frame camera. Now I could go into detail on what that means, but I don’t want to bore people. Suffice to say it is a positive move for the production.

Thinking on building a shoulder rig for the camera too. I have seen a few I liked on youtube. I have looked at the cost of some of them to order online and it’s a bit outrageous for me and my budget at this time, so what the hey, why not build it if I can. I am going to combine elements of the rig I built from one of the Frugal Filmmaker’s tutorials and another one, and make a neat set up. I can’t wait to start working on it. Probably will handle that Saturday, while I am waiting for the coats of resin to dry on my props.

A lot to get to this weekend to say the least. But we’re moving forward.

Leave a Reply

